I don’t want to start over

Yesterday I was so excited to start my 29 Gifts program.  I was committed and determined.  Today I couldn’t wake up.  I slept until 11am and then no matter what I did I could not get rid of the fog that was swirling around in my head.  Usually I have a glass of Diet Coke with Lime and the fog slowly lifts.  This morning the fog just kept hanging on.  I laid in bed for a while watching Bewitched on Hulu and hoping to feel more like joining the world.  My mind was just not having any of it.  I was even missing the first coolish day we’ve had around here in weeks.  Rainy, winding, overcast, sounds like heaven to me right now.  The few times I was up and in the kitchen I kept opening the door and relishing in it.  Unfortunately my, almost 3-year-old, son was not of the same opinion and kept closing it on me.

Eventually I just gave myself permission to lay in bed and not go anywhere or do much of anything.  The only thing about this plan was that I didn’t feel like I was going to be able to give my gift today.  I was too tired to do anything around the house for anyone and we weren’t going to be going out now so I didn’t really see a way around it.  I would have to start again on Sunday.  This was not how I had wanted to do this but I had come to decision that this is just what it had to be.

Then something came to me.  As a blog writer  I always look forward to the few comments I get.  I also must admit that I am very bad at commenting on others’ blog posts.  I’m not really sure why that is but it is one of my short comings.  So today I decided that for my gift I would comment on every blog post that had been posted on twitter from the Carnival of MS Bloggers in the last 24 hours and then I would go through all the blogs that I had linked on my blog and comment on everyone’s last post.  I hoped it would make them all feel as happy as I am when I see a new comment.  As of now I already know of one who it effected.

This wasn’t a physical gift or a financial gift but it was a gift of my time and hopefully a gift of happiness to those I wrote to.  I believe these gifts to be just as important as tangible gifts, sometimes even more so.

Now it’s time for me to try to figure out how to go to sleep tonight.  How ironic, I can’t wake up during the day and then can’t get to sleep at night.  Tomorrow at least I have a wonderful incentive to get up and shake the cobwebs loose.  Cooking club starts here at 10am!  I can’t wait!

2 Comments

  1. Have Myelin? said,

    July 11, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    I’m new to your blog but am enjoying reading what I’ve seen so far. =)

  2. Lisa Emrich said,

    July 12, 2010 at 1:32 am

    Hi Debbie,
    That was really sweet of you to visit each of those blogs. It is definitely hard to keep up with everybody. I too do not comment on every post that I read; that would be nearly impossible.
    You know, since you do live in the Baltimore/Washington area, we could schedule a meet-up sometime. I’ve been thinking about that. We just need a place to do it as I know that there are several other MS bloggers in our area. Still in the thinking stage.
    BTW, love your new logo!! I will eventually need one too.
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

