29 Gifts

I know that I have been MIA for a little over a month now.  It’s not that I haven’t been thinking about my beloved blog, in fact I started 3 different posts, but the energy and determination needed to finish each of those posts has been missing.  Now that I am back I could tell you about our A/C dying, some family issues, a continued problem we are dealing with from an MS fundraiser, the legal troubles of a friend that I’ve gotten myself involved in,  the neurologist who won’t pay close enough attention, medication mix-ups, and the list goes on.  Today (no promises about tomorrow 🙂 ), however, that is exactly what I am NOT going to do.

Today I’m going to tell you about a book/project I came across on Facebook a little while ago.  The book is called 29 Gifts .  It was written by a woman named Cami Walker.  The first thing that caught my attention about this book was the fact that the author had been diagnosed with MS when she was 33 years old.  You probably would not have had to tell me anything else about the book and I would have still wanted to read it.  I really enjoy memoirs and the fact that the author had things in common with me was more than enough.  The fact that it was about giving, accepting, and living joyously was icing on the cake.

I won’t lie and say that the book was the best piece of non-fiction I’ve ever read but neither was it poorly written.  I found the subject matter fascinating and felt an immediate calling.   It sounded like it could be just the prescription I needed as it was for the author.  The book talked about a prescription the author was given by a friend, who was also an African Medicine Woman, to give away 29 gifts in 29 days.  The only requirement of the gift was that it be “authentic and mindful” and that if you missed a day you should start over.  The purpose of this prescription was to stop thinking about and focusing on yourself.

This has been weighing heavily on me ever since I read the book.  I’ve thought about starting the project so many times I can’t even remember.  I’d often think “that could have been my gift for the day”.  In fact I’ve said that, and talked about it, so frequently that my husband is getting tired of hearing about the possibility and told me to “just start”.

So, you may be asking, why haven’t I?  Honestly, I’m the biggest procrastinator you’ve probably ever met, and because of fear.  Fear that I wouldn’t have a gift to give every day, that I would forget, that I wouldn’t always be doing it with the mindful joyousness with which it is intended.  Today I no longer cared about my reasons for not starting but only for the reasons I have wanted to start.  Today will be my first gift.

My first gift is something I’ve wanted to do now for a while, especially as I know I have no other practical way to help.  I donated $170.00 to the National Wildlife Federation for their work in helping with the BP oil spill in the gulf.  It may seem like an odd number but it is the same amount we just wasted in having an old, bad for the environment, A/C unit looked at.  It seemed appropriate.

As it turns out today I gave two gifts.  The second was an apology/explanation to my husband regarding my poor response to his dinner problems.  This is something I would not normally have done.  I often just clam up and stay upset.  Now I am no longer upset and he no longer feels attacked or ignored.

I believe that first day can be considered a success.  I will keep you updated with my daily gifts.  If you wish more information on this project please visit 29Gifts.org .

1 Comment

  1. July 11, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Any gift to help the oil “spill” is a gift to all creatures, human and otherwise. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

