Doing something good = FAIL

As many of you know I have been hard, hard at work trying to raise funds for the NMSS. However, it seems that when dealing with any other circumstance than the MS Walk, itself it is very difficult to do without being your own non-profit. I was just told by PayPal, who I set up an account with to sell tickets to fundraising events for the NMSS, that they have limited my account and I will not be able to withdraw any money until I prove that I am working with the NMSS. I can’t even change my status to personal or business since my website says that I will be donating money to the NMSS. I must also open a special account for these funds to be withdrawn into, my bank accounts aren’t good enough. It doesn’t seem to matter that I have fronted money from my personal account, that the donate button on my site goes directly to the NMSS, or anything else for that matter. I know that there are crooks out there, but do you know how frustrating it is to be treated like one when you are not!

Thanks for listening to my rant! I was on the verge of tears when I started writing this and now I feel a “little” better.

By the way do any of you happen to know an attorney that would be willing to do some Pro Bono work to set up an official non-profit with 501(c)(3) status?

Leave a Reply

