Anyone, Anyone?

As soon as we returned from the ocean I called my neurologist’s office and spoke to his secretary again. Not only did she reiterate that I would have to wait FOUR months for a “new” patient appointment, but that she had spoken to the neuro’s nurse and she said that they couldn’t do anything for me anyway because I was pregnant. I think I threw the phone across the room after hanging up.

My symptoms were slowly getting worse: a little harder to walk, a bit more numb, less endurance for strength activities. The week after we got home, Ed left for a business trip for England, leaving me home alone with G. who was now about eight months old. It was just a week and I wasn’t 100% but I was still able to take care of my baby.

I called the OB that I had used with G. to get my first prenatal appointment. They said that I first had to come in for a pregnancy test. I told them that the pregnancy had just been confirmed by an emergency room, but that wasn’t good enough for them. They asked me if I’d like to make an appointment and I said “No”. I had been thinking about changing practices anyway since they were so far away, and this was the perfect motivator. I asked around and finally called a much closer office who still couldn’t get me in for almost a month, but at least believed that I was pregnant.

(TMI warning) A couple of days later, I noticed a small spot of blood when I went to the bathroom. I called the OB because if there was something wrong with this pregnancy, I’d rather know sooner then later so I could start getting some treatment for my MS. The OB office had me come in that day, and when they did the ultrasound, they found a pregnancy, but not as developed as they would have expected for my dates. She said that it didn’t necessarily mean anything and to come back in a week and everything could be different.

Unfortunately, things started going downhill, for me, at a quicker pace. I ended up calling my mom and telling her that I was afraid to carry G.; afraid that I would lose my balance and fall with him. I also had to call Ed and ask him to come home a day early. By the time the OB appointment came around the next week, I had convinced myself that the pregnancy would be over and that my MS attack could now be treated properly.

When I finally got to the OB appointment, I didn’t even have the strength and balance anymore to climb up on the examining table myself. When the Dr. walked in I was a crying mess. The little girl fighting with her DaDa in the kitchen right now proves how wrong I was. Things had progressed and we saw a little fetus with a tiny heart just beating away. I hate the fact that there was even one moment where I was expecting/wanting any other results. All I know is that I was feeling so desperate and abandoned, and that would of solved those problems. God knew better and I try to thank him everyday for the little blessing I used to call “my little mouse”. The OB said that she would give me a referral to a High Risk OB but she thought that I would have to wait untill I was out of my first trimester to start any kind of treatment for the MS.

I called the High Risk OB and they said that they don’t usually see patients until they are in their twelfth week. I don’t remember exactly the question I asked next, but the answer was “of course she can be treated”. After I hung up the phone something about that statement just stayed with me. I assumed she meant that at twelve weeks I could be treated, but there was this little voice inside me that just kept asking, “What if she meant I could be treated now?” After much internal debate, I decided to call back and get clarification. It turned out that she meant of course I could be treated NOW! After hearing my story, they had me in for an appointment the next week.

Meanwhile, my condition was deteriorating rapidly. Ed had to take the box-spring out from under our mattress so that I could climb into bed. Our couch had to be put on risers so that I could get up while pulling on something. I could not walk without using the wall for balance. My mom was coming up every day because I couldn’t take care of G. at all. I needed to sit in the shower and have Ed wash my hair for me, because I didn’t even have the strength in my arms to hold them above my head.

By the time the appointment came along, the car had to be driven across the grass right up to the steps because I couldn’t handle the unevenness of our lawn. I could barely walk into the building and definitely could not do it without help. Thank goodness for valet parking. Once we got into the waiting room, I sat in the closest seat and made Ed do anything else that required getting out of that seat. When we were called back, I would’ve sworn that I had never seen a longer hallway in my life. We all know how wrong I was, but it sure felt like that to me. A nurse took one look at me and went and grabbed a wheelchair. The baby was fine was doing great and the doctor said that she saw no reason that I could not start treatment immediately. The biggest possible side effect she mentioned was a cleft palate. It turns out that there is a slightly higher occurrence of cleft palates in women who have taken high dose steroids during the first trimester, but all they had was a correlation and not causation. She was not worried at all. We thanked her immensely and she called my neurologist as soon as we left. I had an in-home 3 day course  of high dose Solumedrol two days later.

4 Comments

  1. herrad said,

    February 20, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Hi Debbie

    Hope the solumedrol is helping you.
    Thinking of you.
    Love,
    Herrad

    • Debbie said,

      February 20, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      HI,

      Thanks for you good wishes. Right now I am still telling the story of the past. This post happened about a year and a half ago. All the posts with the green writing are the ones leading up to where I am today. Sorry to have confused you. Take care, Debbie

  2. joseph pulikotil said,

    February 21, 2010 at 7:10 am

    Hi Debbie:)

    Greetings:)

    I am inspired by your courage and guts. So much pain, so many problems and you are taking it in your stride. People like me grumble and complain with the slightest inconveniences in life and to see you coping up so well with such extreme difficulties is truly aweinspiring.

    My prayers and best wishes:)
    Joseph

  3. February 25, 2010 at 4:24 am

    […] ask about my case.  If I had not gone to see my high-risk OB so early, and had not followed up on her offhand comment , how much longer would this have continued?  To this day, nearly 2 years later, whenever I think […]


Leave a Reply

