A brief break from the past for some news from the present

Over the last couple of days, while writing this blog and doing some research on other blogs related to MS, I have been blessed to come across many beautiful and inspirational blogs and to talk to a couple of the people behind them.  I have contacted a few of my fellow blog writers to ask them if they would be willing to help a new blogger out and link my blog on their site.  I, of course, would do the same with their blog.  I know that it is early yet, but I had one, almost immediate, response from Nadja of LIVING! WITH MS .  Nadja not only linked my blog to her site, but she also did a special blog post to introduce me to her readers.  I am very grateful.  Please go on over and check out her blog!

In other news, I have an appointment with a new neurologist on Wednesday.  I’m a little nervous.  My last neurologist left  Johns Hopkins to go to an institution, to do some more extensive MS research.  Though it was sometimes difficult to get an appointment with him, he made himself available by email, and he also gave us his personal cell phone number for when issues arose.  He would call in prescriptions and arrange steroid treatments without me having to go into the office or a hospital.  However, he was strictly medical.  He offered no lifestyle advice or any information on vitamins/herbs which have possibly proven helpful to a person with MS.

I need to be able to connect with a doctor for him to be able to help me at all.  I do not like “feel good” doctors who only tell you what they think you want to hear, but I do like some discussion and a doctor who explains why rather than just stating the facts.

I’m also a little scared that the classification/subtype of my MS will be changed from relapsing remitting to secondary progressive.  After each of my last two relapses, I have retained some altered sensation in my fingers and weakness in my legs.  This has never happened to me before. In the past, I have always completely returned to baseline.  I am not sure if the weakness in my legs is secondary to the MS or to the simple fact that I have not done any type of exercise since before E. was born.  Hopefully the neurologist will be able to tell.

To add a little humor to this, at least for those of you of you who have been living through or following Maryland weather this last week, MS has at least given me a get out shoveling snow free card for our record setting snowfall!  You have to look at the bright side of things or you could spend your life crying.

This appointment is set up as a returning patient (rather than new patient), since they are treating the situation as if he is just taking over for my previous neurologist.  I just pray he has the time and patience for all my questions about the new studies and treatments being discussed, and to allow me to get to know him.  I could use all the prayers, thoughts, and crossed fingers you have to spare.

I would  like to thank everyone who has signed up to walk with Next Steps and all who have supported us in any way.  At this point the Next Steps team has raised $1,975, thanks to very generous friends, family, and the occasional stranger, and we still have almost two and a half months till the walk.  Hopefully this $1,975 will be completely eclipsed by our total amount on April 24th.  Right now we have a fundraising event planned for March 2, 2010 at Cheeburger Cheeburger in Columbia, MD from 5pm til 9pm.  If you are in the area, go to the Cheeburger Cheeburger page on the right side of this page and print out the flyer to bring with you, or just stop in and say that you are there to support the Next Steps team.  The restaurant has agreed to donate 20% of the total receipts to support our team.   That’s quite a deal!  More fundraising events are in the works so please stayed tuned.

Next post…back to the past.

Leave a Reply

