Time for the professionals

After crying until I could cry no more, I made a decision.  I could not go through that again.  The question was where to go from here.  The only thing I knew to do was to pull out my insurance directory and start researching neurologists.

I was first just going to go through the names and see where they were located, when miracles of miracles, what name should jump out at me from about halfway down the list?  Johns Hopkins Department of Neurology.  I couldn’t believe it but checking a couple of times the name was still there and I knew that this was the only place I would be going.  I called them up, told them my story, and had an appointment in a month with a renowned expert in MS, which for Johns Hopkins is incredibly quick.

During that month, nothing really changed.  I still had the numbness and altered temperature sensation on my right side, but other than that, life went on as usual.  I was just waiting for my appointment.

When the day of  appointment arrived I was both excited and scared.  I knew I was going to the best of the best now, but I still had no idea of what to expect.  The first thing they did was the lumbar puncture, and not only did they give me something to calm my nerves, they did the procedure under an x-ray so they weren’t guessing about where they were sticking me.  I have to say that I don’t even remember it hurting more than a little pinch would.  After that there were two more tests.  For the life of me, I can’t even remember what the first one was.  For the second one, I can’t remember the name, but I do remember them sticking electrodes all over my scalp.  In comparison to my first experience, I would say my lack of memory definitely qualifies this appointment as a success.  Thank you, professionals!!!  Now all I had to do was wait for the results.

1 Comment

  1. February 11, 2010 at 2:34 am

    […] Tags: Diagnosis, treatments, withdrawal I can’t remember how many days after  my appointment at Johns Hopkins it was when I got the phone call, or where I was, but I do remember the jist of […]


Leave a Reply

